Support Forum

2018 R1 - Confused ECU settings (changes from 2017 to 2018 .ftm files)

Doulos1992@gmail.comDoulos1992@gmail.com Posts: 5Verified User

Hello, this is my first time jumping into flashing and changing up the exhaust system.

My 2018 R1 is equipped with a 3/4 EVR Graves exhaust with the snog block off plates. I'm currently running the stock air filter but will soon be replacing it with a high flow DNA air filter.

I am running the Graves 2018 file I received from Graves, and I'm confused with some of the changeable ECU settings.

In the 2018 file, the ECU language is stated as:

But in the 2017 file (BX4-8591A-10-(US)Graves Exhaust Cat Eliminator 051717L.ftm), the language is stated differently:

The word disable was removed from the 2018 file - am I assume correctly that a value of False on the "disable top speed limiter" in the 2017 file would be equivalent to a value of Disabled for the 2018 "top speed limiter"?

Additionally, can someone explain to a new what the air intake valve is and the ramifications of either enabling or disabling and the other setting: "Inj Decal Cut" and the "Accel Retard Control"?

Thank you

Tagged:

Comments

• Doulos1992@gmail.comDoulos1992@gmail.com Posts: 5Verified User

Also,

With the active tune running, the map I received runs a lot better, but I've noticed (across power mode one through four) the low RPMs are more responsive, but the mid to highs are less responsive than stock? I was really hoping it would clean up the low range but not without sacrifice the responsiveness of the mid to high RPM range.

• jason@ftecu.comjason@ftecu.com Posts: 1,071Staff User
    edited February 2021

John,

If you are looking to have no Top Speed Limiter on your bike you need the option set as follow:

For "Disable Top Speed Limiter" se to TRUE

For "Top Speed Limiter" set to DISABLE